005

THE DRAG
EXPLOSION

SECOND PRINTING AVAILABLE SEPTEMBER 2021

New York’s momentous drag scene of the 1980s and ‘90s reigns again in this volume of photos by Linda Simpson, who spent the era in the middle of the action taking just-for-fun snapshots. The vivid images capture wild nightlife, queer activism, pop-culture moments, and colorful characters galore as they joyfully pushed the boundaries of gender expression, including Lady Bunny, RuPaul, Lypsinka and Leigh Bowery. The Drag Explosion is a tribute to a golden age, when drag transformed from an underground art form into a mainstream sensation, and paved the path for today’s drag renaissance.

1—4

POCKET BOOK
SET

In the tradition of Suhrkamp Verlag and Penguin Classics, Domain offers a set of elegantly designed pocketbooks, conceived as a starter kit for radical liberatory thought. This pocketbook set is uniquely crafted with custom book jackets tailored to the individual customer; every purchase receipt supplies the raw material for each jacket design. Now available as a single multi-volume package, this collection includes the following titles:

Manifesto of the Communist Party
Karl Marx and Friederich Engels

Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass
Frederick Douglass

A Room of One’s Own
Virginia Woolf

Billy Budd, Sailor
Herman Melville

008

DEX
TEE SHIRT!

Strut your stuff in a limited edition Drag Explosion T-shirt! Featuring the instantly iconic book cover on the front, and the entire cast of characters on the back.

006

SO SINCE I'M STILL HERE LIVIN'

Domain is pleased to present So Since I’m Still Here Livin’: A YouTube Reader edited by Kelly Xio. This anthology leverages the murky power of the YouTube algorithm and the open source traditions of web publishing to assemble a chorus of infamous and lesser known speeches, conversations and debates that have motivated historical and contemporary struggle. The book features an original introduction by editor Kelly Xio and is presented in a dynamic and experimental paperback format. A playlist of video clips and outtakes from the paperback book is featured at sosinceimstillhereliv.in. This project is co-published with Open Forum, Berlin and supported by Wendy’s Subway, New York City.

007

COMING SOON!
ON LETTERS

Domain is pleased to announce the upcoming publication of On Letters, available Summer 2022. On Letters is an intensely personal epistolary essay on the work of On Kawara and its relationship to typography, artistic process, mathematics, race, and more, by the polymathic designer and curator, Prem Krisnamurthy

DOMAIN

Domain is a bookmaker and publisher. We design, produce, and distribute original book works in collaboration with a wide range of artists, writers, and institutions. We also publish a series of classic and forgotten fiction and non-fiction works which have entered into the public domain. Selected with an eye towards the subversive, the series encourages a radical reimagining of the canon.
info@domainbooks.org Instagram Press kit

Website by The Team
(Connor Muething + Ilya Yavnoshan)

EMAIL

Sign up to receive emails about upcoming events and releases.


MUSIC

Michael Magnan — Drag Explosion mix


NEW(S)

MIAMI

Domain is exhibiting with Printed Matter and Exile Books at NADA Miami from December 1–4, 2021. We are proud to join a host of esteemed regional and international publishers and artists. More info at artistsbooksmiami.org